Power over sin

One of my assignments this semester is to memorize Romans 6:1-14 for my Spiritual Life class.  I’m not a great memorizer so this is a challenge for me. I can see where memorizing scripture is like putting on armor.  When you’re in a bad place God can speak to you by putting scripture into your head.  If you don’t know a lot of scripture, there’s not a lot he can say to you. (Obviously God can communicate in many ways and if he really wants to get something through to you he will.  I’m just saying that I believe God really does speak to us through scripture so the more you know the better you will be able to “listen.”)

Here’s some thoughts I have gleaned from class, classmates, and working with the passage.  I’d love to hear your thoughts too!

  • There’s a distinction in the passage between sin and sinsSin is something that tempts a person to commit acts that do not glorify God (these acts are known as sins).
  • Christ died to break the power of sin in our lives.  One of my classmates described it as Christ plucking us up and putting us on a path – we can either follow the path towards Him or we can turn away from Him and go back towards sin.  The point is that it is our choice whether we want to live our lives for the glory of God or continue sinning.
  • The question is whose authority do you want to be under?  Christ’s or the power of sin?  It’s your choice.

All of us struggle with something in our lives.  For me, its the call of the dessert table.  For others it could be lust, feelings of inadequacy, gambling, workaholism, or any other self destructive behavior that you feel like you are powerless to control.  In working through this passage I have come to realize that instead of thinking I can’t do it or that its too hard for me, I now realize that the battle is already won.  I just need to get my mind wrapped around God and make the conscious decision not to fool myself into thinking that I can’t do anything about it.  That doesn’t mean it will be easy, it just means that if you do it you already know you can win.

“Do not let sin control the way you live; do not give in to sinful desires.  Do not let any part of your body become an instrument of evil to serve sin.  Instead, give yourselves completely to God, for you were dead, but now you have new life.  So use your body as an instrument to do what is right for the glory of God.” Romans 6:12-13 (NLT)

 

What do you think?

