Suffering

I think I have mentioned before that my Spiritual Life class requires us to keep a prayer journal and do daily devotionals (specifically the book “My Utmost for His Highest” by Oswald Chambers – a very meaty devotional if you’re looking for one to chew on.  I am enjoying it).  Today’s devotional had a couple of points that hit home with me so I thought I would share since the subject of suffering is one of the big “Why?” questions.

  • If you are going to be used by God he is going to take you through experiences that have nothing to do with you.  He will use you as a tool to affect others.  (If you’re like me, you have a tendency to think everything is always about you when in actuality it is always about God!)
  • “God’s way is always the way of suffering.” – Ouch.  I had to think about this one. Could this really be true?  I guess if our purpose is to become like Christ, we have a long way to go and it will always be a process.  Testing, temptation, refinement…  I can’t imagine that changing us into the likeness of Christ would be an easy thing.  We’re far to selfish for that – at least I am.
  • So when we find ourselves in the midst of suffering, we ask why.  “If we knew the reason/lesson ahead of time it would make us spiritually proud.”  Instead, we go through a period of life change and once on the other side God reveals the reason to us.  After all, Christ suffered, why shouldn’t we?  The thing about Christ is that he also had absolute trust in God.

 

What do you think?

