Psalm 55 – David & depression

Do you have a friend who seems to have it all together, all the time? Or maybe someone on your church ministry team, a pastor or worship leader, whose life seems perfect?

I imagine a lot of people thought that about David. Chosen by God, giant-slayer, anointed king, huge harem, prolific musician … even when bad things happened to David, God saw him through. Charmed life, right?

That’s one reason I’m glad so many of his psalms made it into the Bible. Poor man. Just like all of us, he struggled. He had plenty of bad days, and he constantly poured his heart out to God.

I remember meeting one of our fantastic singers at church after service one day at Subway. I told her how phenomenal her voice was and that I always enjoyed it when she sang. The woman is glamorous and it seemed like her life was perfect.

The thing is, she thanked me for the compliment. She said she’d been having a rough week, and my encouragement was something she needed to hear. She even admitted that singing on stage made her nervous. Just like that, the glamour of perfection was gone, and here was a woman who struggled just like the rest of us.

And now we’re friends. 🙂

Don’t assume that people who seem like they have a blessed life don’t struggle. We all do. Everyone needs words of encouragement. Especially in time like Psalm 55, where it was one of David’s close friends who had betrayed him.

But don’t count on comfort from people. Always seek it from God.

But I will call on God, and the LORD will rescue me.

Morning, noon, and night I cry out in my distress and the LORD hears my voice.

Psalm 55:16-17

2 thoughts on “Psalm 55 – David & depression

  1. One of the things I have long admired about my father – something I first noticed when I was a preteen – was that he goes out of his way to compliment and encourage everyone he meets. Cashiers and servers and so on. Whether it’s thanking them on the great job they did bagging the groceries or complimenting someone’s nail polish or earrings – he always finds something nice to say. Even if it’s just a, “have a blessed day.” Like you said, we shouldn’t count on comfort from people. But as Christians, part of our being a living letter can and should be being encouragement to those around us.

    • I like to encourage people. If I think something nice about them, I try to say it to them. It’s amazing how their faces light up, and sometimes it’s just what they needed to hear that day.

      You’re one of my primary encourages because you take the time to read and comment on everything I write. You are such a blessing to me.

What do you think?

